Faculty List


The following professors teach and/or conduct research on people of the Africana Diaspora or topics related to it in their respected departments. Click on the faculty's name to be directed to their webpage.

M. Abdelsalam

 

Dr. Mohamed Abdelsalam
Department of Geology
303AF Noble Research Center
mohamed.abdel_salam@okstate.edu

 

Eliot Atekwana

 

Dr. Eliot Atekwana
Department of Geology
103F Noble Research Center
eliot.atekwana@okstate.edu
                

 

Estella Atekwana

 

Dr. Estella Atekwana
Department of Geology
103B Noble Research Center
estella.atekwana@okstate.edu
              

 

M. Brienen

 
 

Dr. Marten Brienen
Department of Political Science
235 Murray
marten.brienen@okstate.edu
              

 

R. Brienen

 

Dr. Rebecca Brienen
Department of Art
108 Barlett Center
rebecca.brienen@okstate.edu
              

 

A. carreiro

 

Dr. Amy Carreiro
Department of History
118 Murray
amy.carreiro@okstate.edu
              

 

C. cordova

 

Dr. Carlos Cordova
Department of Geography
421 Murray
cordova@okstate.edu
               

 

091029 gail gates 001 1

 

Dr. Gail Gates
Department of Nutritional Sciences
314 Human Sciences
gail.gates@okstate.edu
               

Understanding the nutrition-related issues of individuals in Africa, developing interventions to address these issues and training African professionals to identify and address these issues

A. greiner

 

Dr. Alyson Greiner
Department of Geology
326 Murray
alyson.greiner@okstate.edu
               

 

D. lightfoot

 

Dr. Dale Lightfoot
Department of Geography
326 Murray
d.lightfoot@okstate.edu
               

 

K. McElroy

 

Dr. Kathleen McElroy
Department of Multimedia Journalism and Sports Media
312 Paul Miller Building
kathleen.mcelroy@okstate.edu
               

 

L. simpson

 

Dr. Lynne Simpson
Library
102 McElroy Hall
lynne.simpson@okstate.edu

Dr. Simpson is currently working with the Oklahoma Oral History Research Program to gather interviews from Oklahoma's Black towns. Her most recent writing is on  the psychological impact of slavery in current fiction.

B. Stoecker

 

Dr. Barbara Stoecker
Department of Nutritional Sciences
421 Human Sciences
barbara.stoecker@okstate.edu
               

 

C. story

 

Dr. Chandra Story
Department of Leisure Studies
435 Willard Hall
chandra.story@okstate.edu
               

Current research intesrest focuses on the intersection of social support and culture in health promotion programs; evaluation and assessment methods.

DrThomas5

 

Dr. David Thomas
Department of Psychology
116 N. Murray
david.thomas@okstate.edu
               

Current research interests focus on the impacts of early nutritional experiences on infant cognition in Ethiopia and the US; and the neural mechanisms underlying cognitive development throughout the lifespan; development of empathy and prosocial behavior in US and cross-culturally.

L. Ware

 

Mr. Lawrence Ware
Department of Philosophy
255 Murray
lawrence.ware@okstate.edu
               

 

c. watters

 

Dr. Craig Watters
Department of Entrepreneurship
101 Business Building
craig.watters@okstate.edu
               

 

T. wikle

 

Dr. Thomas Wikle
Department of Geography
372 Murray Hall & 201 Life Sciences East
t.wikle@okstate.edu
               

 

Ricki1

 

Dr. LaRicka Wingate
Department of Psychology
116 N. Murray
laricka.wingate@okstate.edu